Superstar duo Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have made the all-star XI of the players that have been managed by either Pep Guardiola or Jose Mourinho. The list was compiled by renowned British media outlet TalkSports. Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola will renew their long rivalry this weekend when Spurs entertain Manchester City in a week nine Premier League duel scheduled to take place at the new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

The rivalry between Jose Mourinho and Pep Guardiola is dated to their time at Real Madrid and Barcelona respectively. They both moved from Spain to England with Mourinho managing Manchester United between 2016 and 2018, while Guardiola has been at Manchester City since 2016. The last meeting between the two managers happened last season as Spurs beat Manchester City 2-0 at home despite the fact that it was the Citizens that dominated possession from start to finish. Steven Bergwijn and Son Heung-Min got the goals for Spurs.

In the all-star XI, Chelsea legend Petr Cech was selected in the goalkeeping department having played under Mourinho at Chelsea. He was a part of the Blues team during the first and second Jose Mourinho spells at Stamford Bridge. Dani Alves, John Terry, Gerard Pique and David Alaba were the defenders selected.

John Terry was the Chelsea skipper during the two Mourinho managerial spells at the club, while the duo of Dani Alves and Gerard Pique were key members of the Barcelona team that was very successful under Guardiola. Austrian international David Alaba played under Pep Guardiola at German Bundesliga outfit Bayern Munich.

The formation selected was 4-3-3 with the trio of Claude Makelele, Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta making the midfield. Iniesta and Xavi played for Guardiola at Barcelona, while Makelele was at Chelsea during the first Mourinho spell. Portuguese national team skipper Cristiano Ronaldo is joined up front by Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski. Ronaldo played for Mourinho at Real Madrid, while Messi and Lewandowski played for Guardiola at Barcelona and Bayern Munich respectively.

Comments are closed.